IMG_0106

RECIPE 8: And if they did not die, they live until today.

Bean champignon stew with chocolate and fresh herbs on black pasta threatened by a raw egg   Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. Yes, terrorist attacks scare me. But it equally scares me, if there is talking about war as a reaction… Read more »

raintops_task

TASK 8: About fear

One evening I am sitting on the couch in front of my laptop and reading an e-mail by a close friend. She is currently in a hotel in Paris neighbouring the bars that were aimed at by gun men. She had even thought about going there this evening, but in the end decided to travel… Read more »

JRohn_20150822_4274

RECIPE 7: Fishpurple

Salmon Blackberry // Raspberry Ceviche on Avocado, Peanuts and Quinoa A big fish. Mute like a fish. Lively like fish. Pink like a fish. Purple like a fish. Or so. Ascriptions, comparisons, metaphors. Without them we‘re lost. We need them, these miserable pigeonholes. Because it is just so simple. Open, put the cliche in, close…. Read more »

raintops_task

TASK 7: Gender-Madness, absolutely right!

Just recently I had to laugh. There were the two of us, he in a pink sweater, me in a blue one. Exactly the other way round, I thought. Shortly before I was looking to buy trousers for the male baby of a friend and again, I realized how difficult it is to really choose… Read more »

JRohn_20151026_4875

Recipe 6: Square Schnitzel with Triangle Fries

Chicken Schnitzel with pumpkin seed coating Potatoe Chips Corn Salad with Pumpkin Seed Oil Lingonberry Jam     Even I cannot avoid certain clichés when asked what „Home/Heimat“ means to me. Besides being convinced that everyone carries several „homes“ inside oneself, when I think of Austria I see mountains, lakes, nature – and schnitzel. It`s… Read more »

raintops_task

BRIEF 6: The Eastern Sound of Kangaroos

As a performance artist I tend to travel a lot. As an Austrian artist I can`t expect people to always know what my very small home country is all about. Basically there is three main reactions, the first of which will probably send chills of recognition to every Austrian who has ever travelled abroad. People… Read more »

JRohn_20150822_4002

RECIPE 5: Burger of Compromise

Sesame-Burger with Beanpatty     My life is a compromise, with the least financial input. I am a young artist. And actually, I think, i have it good. Perhaps this is down to the fact that i am just fullfilling myself. Yes, even that you are accused of. Because I have a profession that offers… Read more »

raintops_task

TASK 5: I was young and needed the money

It is quite interesting to look at the terms ‘young’ or ‘emerging artist‘: You would think it applies to the likes of me: being in my mid-twenties, having just finished a Master degree in my artistic profession and having had some public exposure in exhibitions. But actually I have the feeling that this category is… Read more »

JRohn_20150820_3896

Recipe 4: Selfie on a Skewer

Lemon-Fennel-Chicken-Skewer with Feta-Sauce and Deep Fried Sage     Ingredients for the perfect selfie: 57kg me, a dash of duckface or alternative poultry, 2x winning smile, the right filter or spices, self-arranged on and with a screen and stick. Endlessly combinable, but still tastes the same (and good) – this consumable mirror image. Selfies in… Read more »

raintops_task

TASK 4: Culinary Selfie

Since about one year while walking through the city one can’t ignore tourists posing in front of, erm… yes, nearly everything, taking a picture of themselves with the help of an extendable stick. A stick holding their one and only life companion: their smartphone. Instead of asking someone for help and daring to communicate in… Read more »

Latest
  • IMG_0106

    RECIPE 8: And if they did not die, they live until today.

    Bean champignon stew with chocolate and fresh herbs on black pasta threatened by a raw egg   Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. Yes, terrorist attacks scare me. But it equally scares me, if there is talking about war as a reaction… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    TASK 8: About fear

    One evening I am sitting on the couch in front of my laptop and reading an e-mail by a close friend. She is currently in a hotel in Paris neighbouring the bars that were aimed at by gun men. She had even thought about going there this evening, but in the end decided to travel… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150822_4274

    RECIPE 7: Fishpurple

    Salmon Blackberry // Raspberry Ceviche on Avocado, Peanuts and Quinoa A big fish. Mute like a fish. Lively like fish. Pink like a fish. Purple like a fish. Or so. Ascriptions, comparisons, metaphors. Without them we‘re lost. We need them, these miserable pigeonholes. Because it is just so simple. Open, put the cliche in, close…. Read more »

  • raintops_task

    TASK 7: Gender-Madness, absolutely right!

    Just recently I had to laugh. There were the two of us, he in a pink sweater, me in a blue one. Exactly the other way round, I thought. Shortly before I was looking to buy trousers for the male baby of a friend and again, I realized how difficult it is to really choose… Read more »

  • JRohn_20151026_4875

    Recipe 6: Square Schnitzel with Triangle Fries

    Chicken Schnitzel with pumpkin seed coating Potatoe Chips Corn Salad with Pumpkin Seed Oil Lingonberry Jam     Even I cannot avoid certain clichés when asked what „Home/Heimat“ means to me. Besides being convinced that everyone carries several „homes“ inside oneself, when I think of Austria I see mountains, lakes, nature – and schnitzel. It`s… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    BRIEF 6: The Eastern Sound of Kangaroos

    As a performance artist I tend to travel a lot. As an Austrian artist I can`t expect people to always know what my very small home country is all about. Basically there is three main reactions, the first of which will probably send chills of recognition to every Austrian who has ever travelled abroad. People… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150822_4002

    RECIPE 5: Burger of Compromise

    Sesame-Burger with Beanpatty     My life is a compromise, with the least financial input. I am a young artist. And actually, I think, i have it good. Perhaps this is down to the fact that i am just fullfilling myself. Yes, even that you are accused of. Because I have a profession that offers… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    TASK 5: I was young and needed the money

    It is quite interesting to look at the terms ‘young’ or ‘emerging artist‘: You would think it applies to the likes of me: being in my mid-twenties, having just finished a Master degree in my artistic profession and having had some public exposure in exhibitions. But actually I have the feeling that this category is… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150820_3896

    Recipe 4: Selfie on a Skewer

    Lemon-Fennel-Chicken-Skewer with Feta-Sauce and Deep Fried Sage     Ingredients for the perfect selfie: 57kg me, a dash of duckface or alternative poultry, 2x winning smile, the right filter or spices, self-arranged on and with a screen and stick. Endlessly combinable, but still tastes the same (and good) – this consumable mirror image. Selfies in… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    TASK 4: Culinary Selfie

    Since about one year while walking through the city one can’t ignore tourists posing in front of, erm… yes, nearly everything, taking a picture of themselves with the help of an extendable stick. A stick holding their one and only life companion: their smartphone. Instead of asking someone for help and daring to communicate in… Read more »

IMG_0106

REZEPT 8: Und wenn sie nicht gestorben sind, dann leben sie noch heute.

Bohnen-Pilz-Eintopf mit Schokolade und frischen Kräutern auf schwarzer Pasta, bedroht von rohem Ei   Mut ist nicht die Abwesenheit von Angst, sondern vielmehr die Erkenntnis, dass etwas anderes wichtiger ist als Angst. Ja, Terroranschläge machen mir Angst. Aber es macht mir auch Angst, wenn als Reaktion von Krieg geredet wird. Es macht mir Angst, wenn… Read more »

raintops_task

AUFGABE 8: Über die Angst

Ich sitze abends auf der Couch vor meinem Laptop und lese ein Mail von einer nahestehenden Freundin. Sie war gerade in Paris in einem Hotel direkt neben den Bars, auf die geschossen wurde, hatte noch überlegt dort hinzugehen und sich dann für einen anderen Stadtteil entschieden.Ich bin so froh. Plötzlich fällt draußen ein Schuss oder… Read more »

JRohn_20150822_4274

REZEPT 7: Fischlila

  Lachs Brombeer- // Himbeer- Ceviche auf Quinoa, Erdnüssen und Avocado Ein großer Fisch. Stumm wie ein Fisch. Munter wie ein Fisch. Rosa wie ein Fisch. Lila wie ein Fisch. Oder so. Zuschreibungen, Vergleiche, Metaphern. Ohne sie geht es nicht. Wir brauchen sie, diese elendigen Schubladen. Weil es so schön einfach ist. Schublade auf, Klischee hinein, Schublade… Read more »

raintops_task

AUFGABE 7: Gender-Wahnsinn, aber richtig!

Letztens musste ich lachen. Wir waren zu zweit, er im pinken und ich im blauen Pullover. Genau umgekehrt, dachte ich. Kurz zuvor war ich auf der Suche nach einer Hose für das männliche Baby einer Freundin und musste wieder einmal feststellen, wie schwierig es ist, sich die Farbe wirklich auszusuchen. Da gab es rosa-lila-rot auf… Read more »

JRohn_20151026_4875

Rezept 6: Quadratschnitzel an Dreieckspommes

Hühnerschnitzel mit Kürbiskernpanier Kartoffelchips Vogerlsalat mit Kürbiskernöl Preiselbeermarmelade   Auch ich komme um so manches Klischée nicht herum, wenn es um die Frage geht, was für mich Heimat bedeuten würde. Abgesehen davon, dass ich überzeugt bin, dass jeder Mensch mehrere „Heimaten“ in sich trägt, denke ich bei Österreich sofort an Berge, Seen, Wälder, träge Politik… Read more »

raintops_task

AUFGABE 6: The Eastern Sound of Kangaroos

Als Performancekünstlerin reise ich viel. Als Künstlerin aus Österreich kann ich dabei nicht immer erwarten, dass die Leute so genau wissen, wer/was/wie/wo mein sehr kleines Land eigentlich ist.  Grundsätzlich gibt es drei Hauptreaktionen, wobei die ersten beiden Schauer des Erkennens bei jedem und jeder ÖsterreicherIn, der/die je gereist ist, auslösen werden. Man sagt dir, dass… Read more »

JRohn_20150822_4002

REZEPT 5: Kompromiss-Burger

Sesamburger mit Bohnenpatty     Mein Leben ist ein Kompromiss, mit dem kleinstmöglichen finanziellen Input. Ich bin junge Künstlerin. Und eigentlich, denke ich, ich habe es gut. Vielleicht liegt das daran, dass ich mich ja doch nur selbstverwirkliche. Ja, auch das muss man sich vorwerfen lassen. Weil ich einen Beruf habe, der mir Freiheit und… Read more »

raintops_task

AUFGABE 5: Ich war jung und brauchte das Geld

Sich die Begriffe  „Emerging Artist“ oder„Junge Künstlerin“ näher anzusehen, ist ziemlich interessant: Man würde meinen, dass diese als Bezeichnung auf solche wie mich zutreffen: in den Mittzwanzigern, gerade fertig mit einem Masterstudium in der jeweiligen künstlerischen Disziplin, bereits ein bisschen Öffentlichkeit durch Ausstellungen genossen. Aber eigentlich habe ich oft das Gefühl, dass diese Kategorien erst für… Read more »

JRohn_20150820_3896

Rezept 4: Selfie am Spieß

Zitronen-Fenchel-Hühnerspieß mit Feta-Sauce und frittiertem Salbei     Zutaten fürs perfekte Selfie: 57kg Ich, ein Schuss Duckface oder alternatives Geflügel, 2x Gewinnlächeln, der richtige Filter oder Gewürze, selbst angerichtet auf und mit Screen und Stick. Endlos kombinierbar, aber schmeckt doch immer gleich (gut) – dieses konsumierbare Spiegelbild. Selfies im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, ein Bild… Read more »

raintops_task

AUFGABE 4: Kulinarisches Selfie

Seit etwa einem Jahr, während man durch die Stadt streift, kann man sie nicht mehr ignorieren: Touristen, die vor …ähm… ja, fast allem posieren und sich selbst mit der Hilfe eines ausfahrbaren Stabs fotografieren. Ein Stab, der ihren heißgeliebten Lebensbegleiter hält: ihr Smartphone. Anstatt jemanden um Hilfe zu fragen und sich damit zu trauen, im… Read more »

Latest
  • IMG_0106

    REZEPT 8: Und wenn sie nicht gestorben sind, dann leben sie noch heute.

    Bohnen-Pilz-Eintopf mit Schokolade und frischen Kräutern auf schwarzer Pasta, bedroht von rohem Ei   Mut ist nicht die Abwesenheit von Angst, sondern vielmehr die Erkenntnis, dass etwas anderes wichtiger ist als Angst. Ja, Terroranschläge machen mir Angst. Aber es macht mir auch Angst, wenn als Reaktion von Krieg geredet wird. Es macht mir Angst, wenn… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    AUFGABE 8: Über die Angst

    Ich sitze abends auf der Couch vor meinem Laptop und lese ein Mail von einer nahestehenden Freundin. Sie war gerade in Paris in einem Hotel direkt neben den Bars, auf die geschossen wurde, hatte noch überlegt dort hinzugehen und sich dann für einen anderen Stadtteil entschieden.Ich bin so froh. Plötzlich fällt draußen ein Schuss oder… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150822_4274

    REZEPT 7: Fischlila

      Lachs Brombeer- // Himbeer- Ceviche auf Quinoa, Erdnüssen und Avocado Ein großer Fisch. Stumm wie ein Fisch. Munter wie ein Fisch. Rosa wie ein Fisch. Lila wie ein Fisch. Oder so. Zuschreibungen, Vergleiche, Metaphern. Ohne sie geht es nicht. Wir brauchen sie, diese elendigen Schubladen. Weil es so schön einfach ist. Schublade auf, Klischee hinein, Schublade… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    AUFGABE 7: Gender-Wahnsinn, aber richtig!

    Letztens musste ich lachen. Wir waren zu zweit, er im pinken und ich im blauen Pullover. Genau umgekehrt, dachte ich. Kurz zuvor war ich auf der Suche nach einer Hose für das männliche Baby einer Freundin und musste wieder einmal feststellen, wie schwierig es ist, sich die Farbe wirklich auszusuchen. Da gab es rosa-lila-rot auf… Read more »

  • JRohn_20151026_4875

    Rezept 6: Quadratschnitzel an Dreieckspommes

    Hühnerschnitzel mit Kürbiskernpanier Kartoffelchips Vogerlsalat mit Kürbiskernöl Preiselbeermarmelade   Auch ich komme um so manches Klischée nicht herum, wenn es um die Frage geht, was für mich Heimat bedeuten würde. Abgesehen davon, dass ich überzeugt bin, dass jeder Mensch mehrere „Heimaten“ in sich trägt, denke ich bei Österreich sofort an Berge, Seen, Wälder, träge Politik… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    AUFGABE 6: The Eastern Sound of Kangaroos

    Als Performancekünstlerin reise ich viel. Als Künstlerin aus Österreich kann ich dabei nicht immer erwarten, dass die Leute so genau wissen, wer/was/wie/wo mein sehr kleines Land eigentlich ist.  Grundsätzlich gibt es drei Hauptreaktionen, wobei die ersten beiden Schauer des Erkennens bei jedem und jeder ÖsterreicherIn, der/die je gereist ist, auslösen werden. Man sagt dir, dass… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150822_4002

    REZEPT 5: Kompromiss-Burger

    Sesamburger mit Bohnenpatty     Mein Leben ist ein Kompromiss, mit dem kleinstmöglichen finanziellen Input. Ich bin junge Künstlerin. Und eigentlich, denke ich, ich habe es gut. Vielleicht liegt das daran, dass ich mich ja doch nur selbstverwirkliche. Ja, auch das muss man sich vorwerfen lassen. Weil ich einen Beruf habe, der mir Freiheit und… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    AUFGABE 5: Ich war jung und brauchte das Geld

    Sich die Begriffe  „Emerging Artist“ oder„Junge Künstlerin“ näher anzusehen, ist ziemlich interessant: Man würde meinen, dass diese als Bezeichnung auf solche wie mich zutreffen: in den Mittzwanzigern, gerade fertig mit einem Masterstudium in der jeweiligen künstlerischen Disziplin, bereits ein bisschen Öffentlichkeit durch Ausstellungen genossen. Aber eigentlich habe ich oft das Gefühl, dass diese Kategorien erst für… Read more »

  • JRohn_20150820_3896

    Rezept 4: Selfie am Spieß

    Zitronen-Fenchel-Hühnerspieß mit Feta-Sauce und frittiertem Salbei     Zutaten fürs perfekte Selfie: 57kg Ich, ein Schuss Duckface oder alternatives Geflügel, 2x Gewinnlächeln, der richtige Filter oder Gewürze, selbst angerichtet auf und mit Screen und Stick. Endlos kombinierbar, aber schmeckt doch immer gleich (gut) – dieses konsumierbare Spiegelbild. Selfies im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, ein Bild… Read more »

  • raintops_task

    AUFGABE 4: Kulinarisches Selfie

    Seit etwa einem Jahr, während man durch die Stadt streift, kann man sie nicht mehr ignorieren: Touristen, die vor …ähm… ja, fast allem posieren und sich selbst mit der Hilfe eines ausfahrbaren Stabs fotografieren. Ein Stab, der ihren heißgeliebten Lebensbegleiter hält: ihr Smartphone. Anstatt jemanden um Hilfe zu fragen und sich damit zu trauen, im… Read more »